h1

(Sort of) Solving Pidgin’s omega.contacts.msn.com problem

18 November 2010

Thanks to the fix in the comments at diarizing.com, if Pidgin won’t connect because of a certificate error, then:

  1. Delete all msn/live/hotmail certificates in the folder ~.purple/certificates/x509/tls_peers
  2. Go to https://omega.contacts.msn.com using firefox
  3. Right click > view page INFO > Security Tab > View Certificate Button > Details Tab > Export Button
  4. Save file to ~.purple/certificates/x509/tls_peers/omega.contacts.msn.com
  5. Reconnect
4 comments

  1. Thanks very much.
    Worked like a charm under Arch.


  2. Trying to access https://omega.contacts.msn.com generates this reply now

    Directory Listing Denied
    This Virtual Directory does not allow contents to be listed.

    Earlier when I accessed that site, I was getting invalid certificate warnings so declined to follow through until I learned a little more. Now the site itself is inaccessible to me.


    • That’s the same page as I got to, but I didn’t get certificate warnings. I wouldn’t recommend doing anything you don’t feel happy with. I saved the certificate and it worked for a couple of hours, then it broke again. I’ve switched to Empathy until there’s a proper fix.


    • You are gonna see an access denied page, obviously, what makes you think that MS would let you walk into something like that? I’m pretty sure that, that’s a database. But the certificate is still there and can be used.

      On FF, on the Access Denied page, just right click >> Page Info >> and do the rest. Worked for me. The Certificate warning is probably related to some incompatibility with the browser.



Leave a Reply

