h1

December 26

26 December 2007

2007 is coming to a close and looking back it’s not been a bad year. Things have happened, both good and bad, which I can now look back at and smile about, and there are others which definitely fall into the realm of the mistake. I think it’s true to say that looking back beating yourself up over the errors that you make makes you no better a person, it’s only when you learn from them that you can possibly say you’ve grown as a person. All very simple really.

I have already decided upon my new year’s resolutions, and looking back at this year’s I can well and truly say that the thought may have been there, but it possibly wasn’t the right approach to the problems I found myself faced with.

I would honestly say that university as an opportunity to grow is second to none, but going forward I think I need to focus on maintaining the relationships I’ve formed already, pruning the ones that aren’t quite right, and keep meeting new people, but reigning myself in on occasion! Talking of pruning, 2008 will see an end to anyone who thinks that referring to anyone as sexy, gorgeous (and they’re being serious) or babe(s) is acceptable. And do you know? It’ll feel damned good.

I ought to share my resolution, shouldn’t I?

Be more difficult

Inspired, isn’t it? It sort of dawned on me that this year’s “issues” were all the product of my inability to either make a conscious decision or not just saying no, which realistically isn’t the hardest of words to remember! I don’t have any big goals, I don’t have any mad desires, I think this year has taught me (and I was about to put learned me – which is wrong wrong wrong) that it’s better to keep it simple than to go off with big ideas and to attempt to achieve them in mad ways. That’s not to say that I am upset about most of the randomness that I’ve experienced, and hell, I’d do 99% of it again and I know I still cringe at the name “Simon” but to be honest I need to get over that.

So yes, BE MORE DIFFICULT. Simple as.

Leave a Reply

