h1

A-levels

20 June 2007

My A-levels started exactly eight days ago. I’ve now taken all my Geography which wasn’t horrendous, the topics were all ones which I quite liked, which is nice. I’ve done all the German exams, the speaking was a little weird, probably because I did it with JPB and PD, rather than PH and an anglophone teacher, which was what I was expecting. Unit six was bearable at best. Listening and Writing (6a) wasn’t great, Reading and Writing (6b) felt good, and I’m more and more convinced my answer to Writing in Registers (6c) was pap at best. I didn’t show off at all. I wrote something thoroughly pedestrian. General Ignorance Studies could have gone in any way. I’m not totally sure whether my essays were good bad or ugly, I don’t think my textual analysis was that great, but I could do the maths! That is shocking, coming from the child who can do the same sum three times and get three different (and equally plausible) answers. I possibly over-used the word equally though. That would be one of my foibles! French speaking went well, all things told, even though GB managed to address DF (female) as Monsieur for about 50% of the test. Not clever. Not my mistake though. So yeah, tomorrow is my last A2 and I can’t honestly wait for them to be over. 3 hours of French fun and games…or not.

Leave a Reply

